Please join us for the LSU Alumni Association A. P. Tureaud Sr. Black Alumni Chapter’s annual LSU Legends Forum. The event is being held on Homecoming Friday, September 29th, from 6-9:30 p.m. at The Club at Union Square (formerly the Faculty Club).

We are pleased to announce Clarence L. Barney, Jr., the first African American Chairman of the LSU Board of Supervisors, as the 2017 LSU Legend. Mr. Barney served on the LSU Board of Supervisors from 1988 to 2000. During his tenure, the decades-long effort to open an African American cultural center at LSU finally came to fruition. This year, we celebrate the LSU African American Cultural Center’s 25th anniversary and its renaming to the Clarence L. Barney, Jr. African American Cultural Center.

Historically, the LSU Legends Forum has taken nominations for Legends candidates and has voted to honor two of the candidates annually. This year’s one-time departure from that process reflects a unique opportunity for the A.P. Tureaud Sr. Black Alumni Chapter to partner with the LSU African American Cultural Center to celebrate only the second building on the LSU campus to be named after a person of color. The first, of course, was the academic building named after A. P. Tureaud, Sr., our alumni chapter’s namesake and the civil rights lawyer who initiated desegregation of the Orleans Parish School System.

The forum will be immediately preceded by the 25th anniversary celebration ribbon-cutting and renaming of the LSU African American Cultural Center in Mr. Barney’s honor. 

This event is free and open to the public. Complimentary hors d’oeuvre will be provided.

We are grateful for your support and eagerly anticipate your attendance.


Champion Sponsors ($1000+)

7th Sign, Nu Psi Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
J. Ofori and El’freda Agboka
Drs. Aiyanna and Keon Anderson
The Cravins Family
Dr. and Mrs. James and Katrina Dunn
Dr. Rachel and Judge Ramona Emanuel
Franklin and Associates, LLC- Perry and Monique Franklin
Gary and Valerie Huntley
In Memory of Charles and Betty Odom
Donald M. Remy, Esq.
Jyric and Maisha Sims
James M. Williams, LSU Board of Supervisors Chair Elect

Pioneer Sponsors ($500-$999)

Donald and Yvette Cravins
Ken and Erica West

LSU Office of Diversity